The Whitsunday Islands are a collection of continental islands of various sizes off the central coast of QueenslandAustralia, situated between just south of Bowen and to the north of Mackay, some 900 kilometres (560 mi) north of Brisbane. The island group is centred on Whitsunday Island, while the group's commercial centre is Hamilton Island. The traditional owners of the area are the Ngaro People and the Gia People (Birri Gubba Language Group), the Juru Clan of which has the only recognised Native Title in the Region.

The Whitsunday islands are a popular tourist destination for travellers to Queensland and the Great Barrier Reefwith the area being one of the most popular yachting destinations in the Southern Hemisphere. The island received about 700,000 visitors between March 2008 and March 2009.

The Ngaro Sea Trail Great Walk is a mix of seaways and short walks, crossing South Molle, Hook and Whitsunday islands. The tracks across the islands are linked by seaways suited to kayaking, sailing or powerboating. Camping is available at eight camping areas on the three islands. Several islands have large resorts, offering a wide variety of accommodation and activities.

  • Coastal

    • Cid Island
    • Denman Island
    • Goat Island
    • Pear Shoals
    • Planton Island
    • South Molle Island